Branch Committee

Role
Name & email School Faculty
Chair Nick Freestone n.freestone@kingston.ac.uk School of Life Sciences, Pharmacy & Chemistry SEC
Vice-Chair Rosie McNiece r.mcniece@kingston.ac.uk School of Computer Science and Mathematics SEC
Secretary Layla Renshaw l.renshaw@kingston.ac.uk School of Life Sciences, Pharmacy & Chemistry. SEC
Treasurer Willem Spanjers w.spanjers@kingston.ac.uk School of Law, Social and Behavioural Sciences BSS
Membership Secretary Emma O’Dwyer e.odwyer@kingston.ac.uk School of Law, Social and Behavioural Sciences BSS
Health & Safety Rep Vacant To find out more or stand for this position, contact us
Health & Safety Rep (Mental Health)
Georgia Butler  gk.butler@kingston.ac.uk School of Law, Social and Behavioural Sciences BSS
Equality Rep Lori Snyder l.snyder@kingston.ac.uk

This can be accompanied by Reps for Black, Women, LGBT+, Disabled, and Migrant members

School of Life Sciences, Pharmacy & Chemistry.

To find out more, contact us

SEC
Campaigns Rep
Vacant To find out more or stand for this position, contact us.
Green Rep Paul Mickelthwaite p.micklethwaite@kingston.ac.uk Design School KSA
Comms Rep Maggie Gray m.gray@kingston.ac.uk School of Critical Studies and Creative Industries KSA
Anti-Casualisation Rep Eliza Tan eliza.tan@kingston.ac.uk School of Critical Studies and Creative Industries KSA
Academic-Related Staff Rep
Vacant To find out more or stand for this position, contact us
Post-graduate Rep
Vacant To find out more or stand for this position, contact us
Ordinary Member Jelena Petrovic j.petrovic@kingston.ac.uk Kingston Business School BSS
Ordinary Member Fatima Felisberti f.felisberti@kingston.ac.uk School of Law, Social and Behavioural Sciences BSS
Ordinary Member Claudia Uller c.uller@kingston.ac.uk School of Law, Social and Behavioural Sciences BSS
Ordinary Member Yogini Chokeepermal-Naidu Y.Chokeepermal-Naidu@sgul.kingston.ac.uk School of Nursing HSCE
Ordinary Member Steven Woodbridge s.woodbridge@kingston.ac.uk School of Arts, Culture and Communication KSA

If you have any questions about what these roles entail, or are interested in standing for a position that is not listed, please contact us. It is important we have a strong and diverse committee. N.B. it is possible to share posts, and hold more than one.

What is it like being on the branch committee / being a Rep?

“Since I’ve joined the committee I’ve understood better how our union can work as a space for staff members to come together and share ideas and act on how we’d like to see our workplace progress.  I’ve really enjoyed having the opportunity to do training with UCU and found the experience of supporting colleagues as a case worker really rewarding.  It’s also been a real pleasure to get to know people outside of my school and work collectively with them.  It’s a space where people really listen to each others views and I feel safe to share my own.”
Lucy Parker, Joint Course Leader BA Filmmaking, KSA.
.
“I came to Kingston as a HPL before getting a permanent post. Getting involved with the union has been the main way I’ve gotten to know anything about how Kingston functions outside my own department and faculty. It’s been one of the only spaces in which I’ve felt I can actually have a voice about decisions that impact my work, and realised that I’m not alone in struggling with unreasonable workloads, feeling unsupported, and a lack of transparency. It’s empowering to know that others care about the same issues and want to see action taken. Getting involved in the committee this year has helped me see both the scale of the issues different staff face and to feel like I can make a difference in confronting them collectively.”
Maggie Gray, CHS, KSA.