Branch Committee

Role
Name & email School Faculty
Chair Lori Snyder l.snyder@kingston.ac.uk School of Life Sciences, Pharmacy & Chemistry. SEC
Vice-Chair Anna Morgan a.morgan@kingston.ac.uk School of Life Sciences, Pharmacy & Chemistry SEC
Secretary
Nick Freestone n.freestone@kingston.ac.uk School of Life Sciences, Pharmacy & Chemistry SEC
Treasurer Rosie McNiece r.mcniece@kingston.ac.uk School of Computer Science & Mathematics ECE
Membership Secretary Claudia Uller c.uller@kingston.ac.uk School of Law, Social and Behavioural Sciences BSS
Health & Safety Rep Federico Buonocore f.buonocore@kingston.ac.uk School of Life Sciences, Pharmacy & Chemistry SEC
Health & Safety Rep (Mental Health)
Georgia Butler  gk.butler@kingston.ac.uk School of Law, Social and Behavioural Sciences BSS
Equality Rep Caoimhe Mader McGuiness c.madermcguinness@kingston.ac.uk

This role can also be accompanied by Reps for Black, Women, LGBT+, Disabled and Migrant members

School of Arts

To find out more, contact us

 

KSA
Casework Coordinator
Willem Spanjers w.spanjers@kingston.ac.uk School of Law, Social and Behavioural Sciences BSS
Branch Liaison Rep
Nicola Field k2039550@kingston.ac.uk School of Creative and Cultural Industries KSA
Green Rep Fatima Felisberti  f.felisberti@kingston.ac.uk School of Law, Social and Behavioural Sciences BSS
Comms Rep John Miers j.miers@kingston.ac.uk Design School KSA
Anti-Casualisation Rep Rob White r.white@kingston.ac.uk School of Creative and Cultural Industries KSA
Academic-Related Staff Rep
Vacant To find out more or stand for this position, contact us
Post-graduate Rep
Charlie Wilson k2240905@kingston.ac.uk School of Arts KSA
Ordinary Member Phil Harris p.a.harris@kingston.ac.uk School of Law, Social and Behavioural Sciences BSS
Ordinary Member Marina Lambrou m.lambrou@kingston.ac.uk School of Creative and Cultural Industries KSA
Ordinary Member Lina Hakim l.hakim@kingston.ac.uk School of Creative and Cultural Industries KSA
Departmental Contacts
This role involves communicating with other members in your work area, sharing branch new and publicity, feeding concerns and information on local issues to the wider branch; and inviting new members of staff to join UCU. To find out who is Departmental Contact in your area, or to take on this role contact us

If you have any questions about what these roles entail, or are interested in standing for a position that is not listed, please contact us. It is important we have a strong and diverse committee. N.B. it is possible to share posts, and hold more than one.

What is it like being on the branch committee / being a Rep?

“Since I’ve joined the committee I’ve understood better how our union can work as a space for staff members to come together and share ideas and act on how we’d like to see our workplace progress.  I’ve really enjoyed having the opportunity to do training with UCU and found the experience of supporting colleagues as a case worker really rewarding.  It’s also been a real pleasure to get to know people outside of my school and work collectively with them.  It’s a space where people really listen to each others views and I feel safe to share my own.”
Lucy Parker, Joint Course Leader BA Filmmaking, KSA.
.
“I came to Kingston as a HPL before getting a permanent post. Getting involved with the union has been the main way I’ve gotten to know anything about how Kingston functions outside my own department and faculty. It’s been one of the only spaces in which I’ve felt I can actually have a voice about decisions that impact my work, and realised that I’m not alone in struggling with unreasonable workloads, feeling unsupported, and a lack of transparency. It’s empowering to know that others care about the same issues and want to see action taken. Getting involved in the committee this year has helped me see both the scale of the issues different staff face and to feel like I can make a difference in confronting them collectively.”
Maggie Gray, CHS, KSA.